HVAC experts keep North Dakota residents comfortable all year, and many heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration professionals also take part in larger industrial and commercial projects. This guide will tell you everything you need to know about how to get an HVAC license in North Dakota.
Who Needs an HVAC License?
You need an HVAC contractor license in North Dakota if you receive more than $4,000 for a particular project. You can work as an HVAC professional without a license under the supervision of a licensed contractor, however. Individual jurisdictions may have additional requirements, such as licensure at the city level.
HVAC License Types in North Dakota
North Dakota has a general contractor license that applies to HVAC professionals. The state defines four license classes within this category:
- Class D, for jobs worth a maximum of $100,000
- Class C, for jobs worth a maximum of $300,000
- Class B, for jobs worth a maximum of $500,000
- Class A, for jobs worth more than $500,000
North Dakota HVAC License Requirements
To get an HVAC contractor license, you must provide:
- Information about your registered business entity and copies of tax filings
- Details about your HVAC education and experience
- Verification of non-employment document from the state office of Workforce Safety and Insurance if you do not have employees
North Dakota requires proof of liability coverage with your contractor license application. You must also provide a statement from WSI verifying your workers’ compensation coverage if you have employees.
North Dakota HVAC Licensing and Registration Fees
The Secretary of State charges $100 for a Class D contractor license, $225 for Class C, $300 for Class B, and $450 for Class A.
In addition to the Rhode Island HVAC license requirements, the state charges an application fee and a license fee for each HVAC license type as follows:
- CMP/CMR/PM1/RM1: $75 application fee, $240 license fee ($315 total)
- RM2/PM2: $75 test fee, $96 license fee ($171 total)
- PJ1, RJ1: $75 test fee, $65 license fee ($140 total)
- PJ2, RJ2: $75 test fee, $60 license fee ($135 total)
The state does not require a background check. While these fees are current for 2022, they are subject to change.
North Dakota HVAC License Education Requirements and Exam
Although the state does not have specific education or experience requirements for an HVAC contractor license, you will likely need to abide by city-level licensing mandates. For example, licensing laws exist in Fargo, Bismarck, Minot, Williston, and Grand Forks. North Dakota municipalities typically require either two years of apprenticeship and a two-year technical degree in pipefitting or HVAC or four years of related experience and training in the field.
HVAC License Exam Details
North Dakota does not require a state exam for an HVAC contractor license, but you may need to take a city exam. Fargo administers the Master and Journeyman HVAC exams twice a year, and you can schedule an individual exam by calling (701) 241-1561. These exams are reciprocal, which means they qualify you for certification in any North Dakota city.
HVAC Training Schools in North Dakota
You can sign up for HVAC training in North Dakota at these locations:
- Bismarck State College, Bismarck, (701) 224-5400
- Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Fort Totten, (701) 766-4415
- North Dakota State College of Science, Fargo, (701) 231-6900
- Turtle Mountain Community College, Belcourt, 701.477.7862
- University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, (701) 777-3000
Great HVAC training can be found both in-person and online. Use our tool below to find additional programs near you.
North Dakota HVAC License Application
The North Dakota Secretary of State uses an online system called FirstStop for Professional Licensing. You can sign up through the portal to apply for a new license.
Registration and Permitting Requirements
North Dakota requires contractors to renew their state licenses every year on or before March 1. To renew your license, you must complete the Contractor License Renewal application on FirstStop. Documentation to submit includes:
- A list of all the HVAC projects you completed worth more than $25,000 over the past year, including complete project details and whether you served as a contractor or subcontractor
- Certification that you are up-to-date on payments for unemployment insurance, workers’ compensation, and state income tax
- Proof of liability insurance
- Credit card information to pay the filing fee of $30 for a Class D license, $45 for a Class C license, $60 for a Class B license, or $90 for a Class A license.
Some counties and cities may also require a permit for HVAC contracting work. For example, you need to pay a $60 yearly fee and $5,000 license and permit bond to do business in this area in Grand Forks.
EPA Certification in North Dakota
You must get your Section 608 EPA certification if you will work with refrigerants as an HVAC contractor. This designation requires a score of at least 70% correct on a test with 80 multiple-choice questions. You must pay a fee of $120 for certification.
HVAC License North Dakota FAQ
How Long Is My North Dakota HVAC License Valid?
Your North Dakota HVAC contractor license is valid for one year.
Can I Use My North Dakota HVAC License in the Other States?
North Dakota does not have a reciprocal licensing agreement with other states. However, you can work as an HVAC contractor without a license in certain states, including Missouri, Illinois, South Dakota, Kansas, Wyoming, Colorado, Maine, New York, Nebraska, Indiana, Vermont, Minnesota, and New Hampshire.
Who Can I Contact If I Have Questions?
For assistance with your North Dakota HVAC contractor license application, you can contact the Secretary of State office at 701-328-2900.
Understanding how to get an HVAC license in North Dakota gives you a road map for the next phase of your life.