The state of Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) requires that “all businesses or individuals who construct or alter any building, highway, road, parking facility, railroad, excavation, or other structure in Nevada must be licensed by the Nevada State Contractors Board. Contractors, including subcontractors and specialty contractors, must be licensed before submitting bids. The following individuals/businesses may be issued licenses:
- Sole proprietorships;
- General partnerships;
- Limited partnerships;
- Limited liability companies;
- Joint ventures.
The NSCB issues licenses for three different contractor classifications:
- Class A (General Engineering Contractor) – the principal business in connection with fixed works requiring specialized engineering knowledge and skill;
- Class B (General Building Contractor) – The principal business is in connection with the construction or remodeling of buildings or structures for the support, shelter and enclosure of persons, animals, chattels or movable property of any kind, requiring in their construction the use of more than two unrelated building trades or crafts, upon which he or she is a prime contractor and where the construction or remodeling of a building is the primary purpose.
- Class C (Speciality Contractor) – There are 36 separate primary “C” license classifications for contractors whose construction work requires special skill and whose principal contracting business involves the use of specialized building trades or crafts. Manufacturers are considered to be contractors if engaged in on-site construction, alteration, or repair.
It is important to fully comprehend the requirements because unlicensed contracting is a crime in Nevada, with misdemeanor fines up to $1,000 for first-time offenders, and up to $10,000 in felony fines for multiple offenders.
Nevada Plumbing License Reciprocity
According to the state of Nevada’s State Contractors Board, Nevada has very limited reciprocity within the states of California, Arizona, and Utah but that does not pertain to plumbing electrical or fire protection. The board goes on to say that in order to conduct contractual business within the state of Nevada, you must specifically obtain a Nevada contractor’s license. In the state of Nevada, you must apply and re-take the required trade examination.
Nevada Plumbing Journeyman License Requirements
If the route of plumbing you plan to take is becoming a journeyman within Nevada, there are certain requirements both financially, and procedurally. In order to apply for a journeyman license, an individual must show proof of experience. The experience necessary for testing in Nevada is four years of substantiated experience in a state-registered and accredited apprenticeship program that equals out to 8,000 hours of relevant experience. A candidate for a journeyman license — or master license — is required to provide the following:
- Affidavit of experience;
- Official application;
- Associate fees;
- There will be an initial $300 fee in order to submit your application, and if approved there will also be a $600 fee every other year to maintain the license.
- Photo ID;
All of the following inclusions can be either delivered in person or mailed to:
501 Shatto Place, Suite 201
Los Angeles, Ca 90020
Plumbing Journeyman Exam
Once your application has been reviewed and accepted by the Nevada Board of Plumbing Examiners (NBOPE) a licensing analyst will contact you via letter in order to advise you that you are eligible to schedule an exam. The letter will give instructions as to where the test can be accessed.
Nevada not only requires an applicant to complete a journeyman trade exam, but also a construction management exam (CMS) administered by the NITC and PSI. If you take the two tests together the cost is $140. If you choose to take the two tests separately, the costs are $95 apiece. The tests can be taken via paper or computer and there are also journeyman plumber test guides to help you study. The test is composed of an open book portion and a closed-book portion that follows as such:
- Open-book: 2 hours to complete 50 multiple-choice questions;
- Closed-book: 1 hour and 45 minutes to complete 100 multiple-choice questions.
In order to pass, test-takers need to score 75% — or 113 accumulative points. If you fail the test, you are more than welcome to retry indefinitely.
Nevada Plumbing Apprenticeship Requirements
The first step in a plumbing career is the completion of an apprenticeship. In order to become an apprentice in Nevada, you need to apply for an apprenticeship program under the direct supervision of a state of Nevada licensed plumber — whether that be a journeyman or master plumber. Although the plumbing apprenticeship requirements vary from who or where you are apprenticing, applications typically require the following:
- Valid Nevada driver’s license;
- Birth certificate;
- Social Security Card;
- Proof of prior experience if applicable;
- Proof of experience within an accredited training program.
The length of an apprenticeship almost always includes a combination of four years of on-the-job training (8,000 hours) with supervision from a licensed Nevada plumber, and four years of formal classroom schooling. There is no fee in Nevada for applying for an apprenticeship program.
Nevada Plumbing Apprentice Jobs
Becoming an apprentice helps creates the foundation for a successful career as a journeyman or master plumber. You can find an apprentice job through simple online research, but it is always smart to speak with someone that is actively practicing the trade, or your regional representative. Other resources to help find plumbing apprentice jobs are:
- Online job boards such as Indeed, Glassdoor, Ziprecruiter, and Linkedin;
- Utilizing career centers within a plumbing trade school;
- Cold-calling plumbing businesses.
Plumbing Trade Schools in Nevada
Tuition: Approximately $5,000/year
Contact Info: (702) 948-9000
Address: 1870 Whitney Mesa Dr, Henderson, NV 89014
Tuition: Approximately $2,000/semester
Contact Info: (760) 452-1520
Address: 760 N Lamb Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89110
Tuition: Approximately $2,900/year (in-state) and $9,700 (out-of-state)
Contact Info: (775) 445-3000
Address: 2201 W College Pkwy, Carson City, NV 89703
Nevada Professional License Search
In order to verify a plumber’s credentials, a database of licensed contractors is organized, regulated by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB), and available to the public online. You can validate licensing by searching by the individual plumber’s name, the company name, or by license number.
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become a Plumbing Contractor in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Nevada, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements: