Are you wondering whether you need a Nevada handyman license to do this type of work? The state requires home repair professionals to be licensed as general contractors. Review this guide to explore how to get a handyman license in Nevada.
Disclaimer: This article is not legal advice. You should consult your local regulations and a qualified attorney for legal advice.
Do You Need a License to be a Handyman in Nevada?
Nevada requires a contractor license from the state Contractors Board for home repair workers who complete projects that require a building permit or have a value of more than $1,000. Smaller jobs fall under the state’s handyman exemption. You may also be exempt if you work under the supervision of someone who has a valid Nevada contractor license.
The state has established three different contractor license classes based on the type of work you do. You also need a specialty license to perform work on swimming pools or spas or to work as a plumber or electrician.
Is There a Specific Handyman License in Nevada?
Nevada does not have a specific handyman license. The general contractor license applies to home repair jobs costing at least $1,000 and/or requiring a permit.
Nevada Handyman License Requirements
If you perform handyman work that requires a contractor license, you must display four years of relevant experience as a contractor, supervising worker, foreman, or journeyman within the past 10 years. The state will accept up to three years of approved college education in lieu of equivalent work experience.
Handyman license requirements Nevada also requires you to pass the contractor licensing exam and undergo fingerprinting and a background check. The state requires current financial statements for your business to demonstrate fiscal responsibility.
You must also have a Nevada business ID to register as a general contractor. Consult the Nevada General Contractor License Guide for more information about licensing as a handyman in the state.
You must have proof of insurance to obtain a Nevada contractor license. The state requires a surety bond indicating your coverage limit. If you have employees, you must also show proof of workers’ compensation insurance.
Use the tool below to request a free commercial insurance quote from our partners.
Nevada Handyman Licensing and Registration Fees
You must pay a $300 fee to get your Nevada contractor license. The required business and trade exams cost $95 each, but you can pay a reduced total of $145 if you take the tests together.
Nevada Handyman License Education Requirements and Exam
Nevada does not have specific education requirements to get a general contractor license as a handyman, although you can use education in place of work experience on your application. If your handyman work reaches the level that requires a contractor license, you must pass a Nevada state exam.
Handyman License Exam Details
Nevada requires both a trade test for your contractor class and a general business and law test. You must pay $145 to take these exams together or $95 each if you take them separately. PSI Licensure administers Nevada’s contractor license exams at these state testing centers:
225 Silver Street Ste 102
Elko, Nevada 89801
3210 East Tropicana Avenue
Las Vegas, Nevada 89121
Airport Plaza Office Building
1755 E Plumb Lane Ste 108
Reno, Nevada 89502
Handyman Training and Certification Programs
Nevada does not require training or certification programs to become a general contractor as a handyman. The Contractors Board reports that you should be able to pass the necessary exams from the knowledge gained through work experience.
Specific certifications or memberships, such as obtaining a home inspector certificate or joining The Association of Certified Handyman Professionals, can lend credibility to your business. It is also essential to understand fundamental business principles, which you can gain through an online training program.
Nevada Handyman License Application
You can apply for a Nevada general contractor license online if your work exceeds the limit for the handyman exemption.
Handyman License Nevada FAQ
Get the answers to the most frequently asked questions about how to get a handyman license in Nevada.
1. What Happens If I Do Not Have the Right License?
Nevada can impose misdemeanor charges for the first offense of conducting contractor work without a license. A conviction for this charge can result in $1,000 in fines and up to six months in jail.
2. How Long Is My Nevada Handyman License Valid?
Your Nevada handyman license is good for two years. You must pay a $600 fee and provide updated proof of insurance for renewal, which you can do online.
3. Who Can I Contact If I Have Questions?
For help with your Nevada handyman license, you can contact the Secretary of State’s office at (775) 684-5708 or online at www.nvsilverflume.gov/startBusiness. Nevada also has a business assistance program offering resources for small business owners, as well as a similar program that specifically provides assistance to veterans.
If your work as a handyman includes projects that cost more than $1,000 or need a municipal permit, you must be licensed as a general contractor. Following these state requirements can help you obtain the necessary Nevada handyman license for home repair jobs.
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become a Handyman in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Nevada, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements: