The HVAC industry is stable and growing throughout the nation, and if you’re interested in following this career path, you may wonder how to get an HVAC license in Missouri. Unlike many other states, Missouri does not issue HVAC licenses at the state level; you must pass an exam and pay a fee to obtain a license in the city or municipality you want to work in. Knowing Missouri HVAC license requirements can prepare you for a successful career in the industry.
Who Needs an HVAC License?
The Missouri Division of Professional Registration issues electrical contractor licenses but leaves the licensing of HVAC contractors to individual cities and jurisdictions. Most localities in Missouri require anyone who works on heating, air conditioning, and ventilation system in a city with more than 15,000 residents to hold a license or certification, according to state statute. Apprentices and journeymen must hold certifications and work under a licensed contractor. A master-level technician must obtain an HVAC contractor’s license to open a company or oversee someone with a lower certification. Additionally, anyone who works with refrigerants must pass an EPA exam.
HVAC License Types in Missouri
Most jurisdictions in Missouri issue three types of HVAC licenses in addition to EPA certifications. You must have a valid driver’s license and be at least 18 years old to apply for any of these licenses.
You must complete an approved training program or college course to apply for an apprentice HVAC certification. You must apply for the certification, but because it only allows you to work under the supervision of someone else rather than working under your own license, there is no apprentice exam.
You must work for at least two years as an apprentice before you can sit for the journeyman exam. This certification allows you to supervise apprentices while working indefinitely under the license of a Missouri HVAC contractor.
Upon passing an HVAC contractor certification exam, you may open your own heating, air conditioning, and ventilation company or continue to work as an independent contractor. You must complete an approved training program and work in the HVAC field for at least two years as an apprentice or a journeyman before you are eligible to apply for a contractor license. There are three types of HVAC contractor licenses you can register for:
- Service-Installer: Install, maintain and repair residential and commercial HVAC units.
- Sheet Metal: Install ductwork in residential and commercial buildings.
- Pipe Fitter: Work with any type of high-pressure system such as a boiler.
Missouri HVAC License Requirements
You must have a high school diploma or a GED certificate before you can apply for an HVAC training program. After completing a college course or training program, which typically takes up to two years, you may enter the HVAC industry as an apprentice while you gain the work experience you need to apply for your contractor’s license.
Although Missouri does not license HVAC technicians at the state level, it does require contractors to hold a specific amount of insurance. You must have $500,000 in liability insurance and show proof you have a surety bond of at least $10,000 when you apply for an HVAC contractor’s license. Various localities may have additional requirements, so it is best to check with the municipality you plan to work in to make sure you have the proper insurance coverage. Use the tool below to request a free commercial insurance quote from our partners.
Missouri HVAC Licensing and Registration Fees
Missouri leaves HVAC licensure to individual cities and municipalities, so licensing and registration fees vary widely. The fee for the EPA exam is $60 across the state at the time of this writing but is subject to change at any time. The average cost for a journeyman or contractor license is $100, but you should check with your city to find out how much it costs to get an HVAC license in your municipality. Jurisdictions such as Kansas City and St. Louis have strict licensure requirements for contractors.
Missouri HVAC License Education Requirements and Exam
You must complete either a certified training program or an approved college course before you can enter the HVAC field. Most training programs can be completed between six months and two years, while most HVAC college courses take two years to complete. Regardless of which option you choose to go with, there are many in-person and online training programs to give you the training you need to be an HVAC technician.
HVAC License Exam Details
Because individual municipalities issue HVAC licenses, exam details vary widely. Check with your local board to get licensing exam details for your city. The following guides can help you prepare for the exam:
HVAC Training Schools in Missouri
According to the careeronestop.org website developed by the U.S. Department of Labor, Missouri has nearly 2,000 programs that provide HVAC training. The Partnership for Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Accreditation and HVAC Excellence are two nationally recognized organizations that approve several programs in the state, including:
- Hillyard Vocational-Technical School, St. Joseph, Missouri, 816-671-4170
- State Technical College, Linn, Missouri, 573-897-5000
- Ozark Technical Community College, Springfield, Missouri, 417- 447-7500
- Jefferson College, Hillsboro, Missouri, 636-481-3000
Request free information below regarding HVAC programs near you:
Missouri License Application
Licensing requirements vary for different municipalities, but the application process is the same. You can apply for an HVAC license online on your local board’s website. You must submit proof that you have completed the educational and work experience requirements. You will also need the application and license fee, which is different for each jurisdiction. You can contact your city to find out how much you need to pay for an HVAC license.
Registration and Permitting Requirements
If you wish to work as an independent HVAC contractor and open your own company, you must apply for a business license from the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office. State business restrictions require you to show proof of unemployment, liability, and workers’ compensation insurance. Some localities, such as Kansas City, require a cash deposit while you seek licensure.
HVAC Registered Contractor Requirements in Missouri
Some jurisdictions in Missouri require you to hold a mechanical contractor’s license in addition to HVAC certification. Ask your local board for permitting requirements to ensure you hold the proper certifications to perform HVAC work in the city.
EPA Certification in Missouri
Federal requirements mandate anyone who works with refrigerants of any type hold an EPA certification. There are four EPA certification levels:
- Type I: Certifies you to work on small appliances that use less than five pounds of refrigerant.
- Type II: This allows you to work with any type of appliance that uses more than 10 pounds of refrigerant.
- Type III: Permits you to dispose of any type of refrigerant.
- Universal: Certifies to work with any type of appliance that uses refrigerant and dispose of the substance as needed.
If you don’t apply for a universal EPA certification, you may need to secure two other EPA certifications depending upon the type of work you do. Each certification has its own exam with slightly different topics, but the core EPA exam covers the following categories:
- Dehydration evacuation
- Ozone depletion
- Oils and refrigerants
- Recovery technique
- Section 608 Regulations
- The Clean Air Act
HVAC License Missouri FAQ
How Long Is My Missouri HVAC License Valid?
A Missouri HVAC license is valid for three years. You can renew online in the same jurisdiction with the same fee for the initial license. Fees vary widely depending upon the city you want to work in, so check local requirements for an accurate estimate on renewal fees.
Can I Use My Missouri HVAC License in the Other States?
Your HVAC certifications and license may allow you to perform HVAC work in other regions of the state, but it is best to check with each jurisdiction to make sure you have the proper requirements to work in them. Your license will not be applicable outside of the state, but your apprenticeship and work experience may make you eligible to take the licensing exam in another state.
Does Missouri Have Continuing Education Requirements?
To renew your current HVAC license, you must complete 24 hours of continuous learning during the previous licensing period.
Who Can I Contact If I Have Questions?
The Montana Division of Professional Registration can help with basic licensing questions but not specifics because the state leaves HVAC licensure to each jurisdiction. Check with your locality if you have further questions about how to get an HVAC license in Missouri.
Missouri issues HVAC licenses on a city level rather than at the state level. While exam basics are the same across the state, licensing and exam fees vary widely. It’s best to check the requirements of the municipality you want to work in so you know how to get an HVAC license in Missouri.
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become an HVAC-R technician in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Missouri, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements: