You do not need a Missouri handyman license to conduct home repairs for residential clients. However, the state does require proof of insurance for those who perform this type of work. If you engage in renovations, remodeling, construction, or simple fix-it jobs, review this comprehensive guide about handyman license Missouri.
Disclaimer: This article is not legal advice. You should consult your local regulations and a qualified attorney for legal advice.
Do You Need a License to be a Handyman in Missouri?
Missouri does not require home repair contractors to have a handyman license. In fact, it’s also one of the few states where you don’t need any type of statewide license to do construction, plumbing, or electrical work.
However, some cities require licensure at the local level. You will also need to register your business entity with the Secretary of State’s office to work as a professional handyman.
Missouri Handyman License Requirements
Even though you don’t need a handyman license in Missouri, you do need to register with the Secretary of State. You can also consult the General Contractor License Guide to learn more about local contractor license requirements in Kansas City and other Missouri cities.
You must show proof of general commercial liability insurance, including a $10,000 surety bond and $500,000 in liability coverage, to register your handyman business in Missouri. If you have employees, you also need proof of a workers’ compensation policy.
Use the tool below to request a free commercial insurance quote from our partners.
Missouri Handyman Licensing and Registration Fees
The Missouri Secretary of State has a registration fee of $50 for most small businesses. The state may update or change its fees at any time. You do not have to take an exam or undergo a background check to qualify for handyman business registration in Missouri.
Handyman Training and Certification Programs
Although Missouri does not require training or education to register as a home repair contractor, obtaining certifications in relevant areas like appliance installation and the home inspection can help you further your career.
Specific certifications or memberships, such as obtaining a home inspector certificate or joining The Association of Certified Handyman Professionals, can lend credibility to your business. It is also essential to understand fundamental business principles, which you can gain through an online training program.
Missouri Handyman License Application
The Secretary of State’s office has an online portal called 24/7 Missouri where you can register your handyman business. After you create a user name and password for the site, you can submit your application, pay fees and submit necessary filings.
Handyman License Missouri FAQ
These are the answers to the most common questions home repair contractors have about how to get a handyman license in Missouri.
1. What Happens If I Do Not Have the Right License?
You do not have to have a handyman license to do this type of work in Missouri. However, if you do not register your business, you could receive hundreds or thousands in fines until you correct the situation.
2. How Long Is My Missouri Handyman License Valid?
You must renew your Missouri handyman business registration every year with the Secretary of State’s office. As with the initial registration, the renewal fee is $55.
*3. Who Can I Contact If I Have Questions?
You can contact the Missouri Secretary of State’s office with your questions by phone at (573) 751-4936 or by email at [email protected].
This guide provides the necessary information if you’re interested in getting a Missouri handyman license. You can perform home repair work in the state with few restrictions and requirements, but you do need to register your business.
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become a Handyman in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Missouri, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements: