There are many opportunities for work as a handyman, but it is not always clear how to get a handyman license in Delaware. The type of license required depends on the kind of work you perform and how much payment you receive for the job.
Delaware law defines contractor work broadly, including almost all construction or modification of buildings. Additionally, all work for projects over $50,000 constitutes contractor work. This guide explains how to obtain a Delaware handyman license for contracting work and all of the steps you need to follow.
Disclaimer: This article is not legal advice. You should consult your local regulations and a qualified attorney for legal advice.
Do You Need a License To Be a Handyman in Delaware?
Delaware does not have a specific license for handyman work. It may be more helpful to think in terms of the projects you plan to work on more so than the term handyman or contractor. For example, work done to alter or repair any building in Delaware falls under the heading of a contractor, as opposed to the handyman. It is essential to check the regulations governing different kinds of work before deciding which licenses you may need. Refer to the Delaware state code on Occupational and Business Licenses and Taxes for more information.
If you plan to apply for a contractor license, you need to obtain a business license from the Delaware Department of Revenue as well.
Is There a Specific Handyman License in Delaware?
While there are no specific handyman license requirements in Delaware, the difference between contracting and handyman work is not always clear. To take on projects of $50,000 or more, it is necessary to apply for and obtain a general contractor license. If you planning to do work on electricity, plumbing, HVAC, or any structural work, you need to obtain different licenses. Please refer to the Delaware Code, which offers a complete description of what constitutes contractor work.
Delaware Handyman License Requirements
The Delaware Division of Revenue is responsible for issuing general contractor licenses in the state of Delaware. It also determines the guidelines for which kinds of work constitute contracting work. Projects that cost more than $50,000 and involve the construction or modification of a building require a general contractor license.
Delaware requires contractors to carry general liability insurance for any damages that may occur during work. You also are required to show proof of unemployment insurance and a workers’ compensation policy if you plan to hire employees. To learn more about insurance for contracting work in Delaware, use the tool below to request a free commercial insurance quote from our partners.
Delaware Handyman Licensing and Registration Fees
There are two small fees required to obtain a contractor license in Delaware, both of which should be made payable to the Delaware Division of Revenue. You must pay a business registration fee, which is $15 for every location you operate. In addition, there is a $75 annual fee for maintaining a contractor license. The listed fees are accurate at the time of writing, but you should check with the Delaware Division of Revenue, which offers the most current information.
Delaware Handyman License Education Requirements and Exam
There is no proof of education or examination required for a contractor license in Delaware, but you may require other certifications if you plan to do electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or other kinds of specialized work.
Handyman Training and Certification Programs
While the state has no training requirements, a variety of programs can advance your handyman business. For example, some appliance manufacturers certify installers for particular equipment.
Specific certifications or memberships, such as obtaining a home inspector certificate or joining The Association of Certified Handyman Professionals, can lend credibility to your business. It is also essential to understand fundamental business principles, which you can gain through an online training program.
Delaware Handyman License Application
You submit your application for a contractor license to the Delaware Division of Revenue. The application requires the following prerequisites.
- A business license from the Delaware Department of Revenue
- Unemployment insurance and a Worker’s Compensation policy
- A Federal Employer Identification Number
- Employee and payroll information
- A surety bond for non-resident applications
The Delaware Division of Revenue provides more information on the requirements, including forms for the business license, workers’ compensation, and the surety bond for non-resident applications. You can also access a digital copy of the paperwork, also available on their website.
Keep in mind that the application process differs slightly depending on if you are a resident or non-resident of Delaware.
Handyman License Delaware FAQ
1. What Happens If I Do Not Have the Right License?
If you engage in contracting work without a license or fail to properly renew your license, you could be fined anywhere from $1,000 to $85,000.
2. How Long Is My Delaware Handyman License Valid?
A general contractor license is valid for one year in Delaware. You are required to renew the license and pay the $75 annual fee each year you plan to operate.
3. Who Can I Contact If I Have Questions?
For further questions about licenses for contracting work in Delaware, consult the Delaware Code Online or contact the Delaware Division of Revenue. There is specific contact information depending on the type of inquiry available on their website.
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become a Handyman in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Delaware, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements: