A handyman provides a wide range of services for people in residential or commercial buildings and may do everything from putting new bulbs in high light fixtures to fixing minor problems around the building. Carpentry and other minor repair skills are common as well.
The question many people have is whether a Connecticut handyman license is required to do repair work in the state and how to get a handyman license in Connecticut. Licensing can be ambiguous, so it’s important to do thorough research before taking on projects for other people. Depending on the services you provide, you may need to follow specific guidelines to obtain a contractor’s license.
Disclaimer: This article is not legal advice. You should consult your local regulations and a qualified attorney for legal advice.
Do You Need a License To Be a Handyman in Connecticut?
There are no handyman license requirements in Connecticut for basic handyman services such as doing minor cabinet repairs, fixing lightbulbs, or performing basic repairs. However, any handyman who plans to make permanent changes to the residential property must register with the Department of Consumer Protection.
Additionally, a handyman who wishes to take on plumbing, HVAC, or electrical work must be licensed in that particular trade.
Is There a Specific Handyman License in Connecticut?
There is not a specific Connecticut handyman license, but anyone wishing to make permanent changes to a residential building must register with the Department of Consumer Protection. Under the Connecticut Home Improvement Act, permanent changes include but are not limited to work in the following areas:
- Windows and doors
- Landscaping and fences
- Patios and porches
- Swimming Pools
Those who wish to make these types of changes to a property can submit a registration application online or via postal mail. Registration expires on March 31st each year and should be renewed for continued work.
Connecticut Handyman License Requirements
There is no requirement for a Connecticut handyman license. Rather, smaller permanent jobs require registration with the Department of Consumer Protection. Depending on the size of the job, a handyman may be required to obtain a general contractor license in Connecticut. If the job requires plumbing work, electrical work, or HVAC work, the handyman may need a specialty license as well.
While specific certifications or memberships are not required, joining organizations like The Association of Certified Handyman Professionals. can lend credibility to your business. It is also essential to understand fundamental business principles, which you can gain through an online training program.
A handyman who is only doing basic repair work for a residential or commercial property does not need to have insurance (although it is still a good idea to have a liability policy at a minimum). A handyman who wishes to take on a project that requires registering with the Department of Consumer Protection will need to have proof of liability insurance with a minimum of $1 million in coverage. Use the tool below to request a free commercial insurance quote from our partners.
Connecticut Handyman Licensing and Registration Fees
There are no licensing or registration fees for a handyman who only performs basic jobs. However, one who wishes to register with the Department of Consumer Protection needs to pay a non-refundable application fee of $220. Mail-in applications must include a check or money order for the amount. The fees are accurate as of the publishing of this content but are subject to change. For an updated list of fees, verify with the Department of Consumer Protection.
Connecticut Handyman License Application
There is no requirement for a handyman license, but those registering with the Department of Consumer Protection do need to fill out an application. The application can be completed online or via mail-in registration, and there are separate applications for individuals and legal entities.
The required information includes the handyman’s full legal name, current contact information, whether there were previous registrations, and the type of work the handyman hopes to perform. There is also a section on criminal history. The entity application looks much the same, except the handyman must provide the entity’s name and current contact information.
Handyman License Connecticut FAQ
1. What Happens if I Do Not Have the Right License?
The penalties for failing to register with the Department of Consumer Protection vary depending on individual circumstances. It could include fines, punitive damages, or other penalties. Those who have a commercial work truck registered may not be able to re-register it if they are found to be working without the proper registration.
2. How Long Is My State Handyman License Valid?
A handyman’s registration with the Department of Consumer Protection is valid until March 31st of the following year. Re-registration is required each year.
3. Who Can I Contact if I Have Questions?
If you have questions regarding your handyman work or registering with the Department of Consumer Protection, you can contact them directly at 860-713-6100. You can also contact your local city or town for more information.
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become a Handyman in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Connecticut, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements: