Working as a handyman means taking on new tasks every day, picking up new skills, and helping your neighbors love their homes. While you’ll need a license to work in certain regions, Colorado’s laws are less stringent than other states. Learn what you need to know about getting a Colorado handyman license.
Disclaimer: This article is not legal advice. You should consult your local regulations and a qualified attorney for legal advice.
Do You Need a License to be a Handyman in Colorado?
The state doesn’t require a license to work as a Colorado handyman. However, specific regions like Denver have their own regulations. Before you start working, check local laws to ensure that you don’t work illegally. Most licenses don’t transfer, so you’ll have to requalify in each region to work as a handyman.
Is There a Specific Handyman License in Colorado?
Colorado does not have an overall handyman license. Every region has different laws, and many cities such as Denver issue the following licenses:
- Class A: This license allows you to perform general handyman work, like painting walls, replacing floors, and cleaning the building.
- Class B: This license permits you to work on any building that the International Building Code doesn’t classify as IA or IIA.
- Class C: This license allows you to work on single- and double-family residential buildings with three floors or fewer.
These laws only apply to regular handyman work. If you want to serve as an electrician or plumber, work with HVAC equipment or do general contracting work, state laws require specific licenses no matter which region you live in.
Colorado Handyman License Requirements
Though there is no specific handyman license in Colorado, to do any sort of general contracting work, you must complete the paperwork and exams for a supervisor certificate, then submit the documents for your license and pay the fees. Specialized licenses like electrical and plumbing have more stringent regulations.
While Colorado doesn’t require insurance for individuals, buying commercial liability insurance protects you from legal fees. For example, if you accidentally injure a customer while working on their house, your liability insurance pays your legal costs during the lawsuit. This potentially saves you tens of thousands of dollars.
Colorado requires all businesses with employees to carry workers’ compensation insurance. If an employee gets injured on the job, workers’ compensation covers lost wages, medical bills, and other expenses.
Use the tool below to request a free commercial insurance quote from our partners.
Colorado Handyman Licensing and Registration Fees
In Denver, General Contractor Class A, Building Contractor Class B, Residential Contractor Class C, Specialty Class D, and mechanical licenses cost $250. A supervisor certificate costs $60. Other specialty documents, like sewer contract licenses or engineer certificates, cost $40 or more. Duplicate documents cost $25. Note that these fees are accurate at the time of writing and subject to change.
Colorado Handyman License Education Requirements and Exam
Requirements for how to get a handyman license in Colorado varies across each region. While the state doesn’t require specific exams or training programs, your city might require certification before you can get started. Exams and training programs also enrich your knowledge even if they’re not required by law. Consider enrolling in training programs to offer your customers the best possible service.
Handyman License Exam Details
In some regions, like Denver, you need a supervisor certificate before you can apply for your handyman license. Each certificate has a different exam, but if you apply for a General Contractor Class A certificate, you’ll take the ICC Exam #F11. Once you pass your exam, you’ll receive your supervisor certificate and move on to the next step.
Handyman Training and Certification Programs
The Construction Education Foundation offers a free four-week program that gives apprentices the skills that they need, then helps them enter the workforce. Students choose from in-person or virtual classes that meet Monday through Thursday from 5-8 p.m. The curriculum includes training in HVAC, plumbing, masonry, pipefitting, carpentry, concrete and electrical work. When the program concludes, students participate in a hiring fair.
Specific certifications or memberships, such as obtaining a home inspector certificate or joining The Association of Certified Handyman Professionals, can lend credibility to your business. It is also essential to understand fundamental business principles, which you can gain through an online training program.
Colorado Handyman License Application
You can apply for your handyman license online, through the mail, or in person. The steps vary according to your region and which application process you choose. Here’s a rundown of what you can generally expect when you apply for your license:
- Choose your supervisor certificate. Handymen usually apply for a construction certificate but select a different certificate if you’re going to work in a specialized field, like plumbing or demolition.
- Review the education, experience, and certification needed before you apply. Each certification has a different set of licenses, each with its own requirements. If necessary, schedule a test and complete the exam.
- Once you receive your supervisor certificate, educate yourself on local building codes and learn about your responsibilities as a handyman.
- Submit a Supervisor’s Statement of Responsibility with your contact information.
- Fill out the Secretary of State documents that apply to your situation. This could include articles of organization, a notarized copy of meeting minutes, a copy of the trade name, or a statement of foreign authority. If none of the situations apply to you, you’ll also submit a “Supervisor of Record” letter.
- If you’re a sole proprietor or individual, submit the Affidavit of Lawful Presence to prove that you’re a legal Colorado resident.
- For specialized services, submit an Electrical Contractor Card, Plumbing Contractor Card, or Fire Suppression certificate along with other documents.
- Submit your documents to the license office. Your application will take 14 to 20 business days to review.
Handyman License Colorado FAQ
1. What Happens If I Do Not Have the Right License?
If you don’t have a license, your region might still permit you to file a mechanics lien. This secures payment if a customer refuses to pay for your services. However, if you operate without a license, Colorado could hit you with a Class 2 misdemeanor for your first offense, followed by a Class 6 felony for a second offense. These charges may come with fines and jail time.
2. How Long Is My Colorado Handyman License Valid?
In Denver, your handyman license is valid for three years. Check the local office to see if your region has different laws.
3. Who Can I Contact If I Have Questions?
If you have questions, reach out to your local license office. For contractors working in Denver, call 720-865-2770 or email [email protected].
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become a Handyman in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Colorado, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements: