As with other types of trade professionals and general contractors in the state of Arkansas, in order to get a plumbing license, a prospective plumber must put in an application with the state with proof that they have the appropriate requirements, as well as pass an exam. Licenses must be renewed every year.
Arkansas Plumbing License Reciprocity
The state of Arkansas does not offer reciprocal plumbing license agreements on a state-by-state basis. Rather, plumbers from other states seeking a reciprocal license in the state of Arkansas can apply on an individual basis with the State Committee of Plumbing Examiners.
Arkansas Master Plumber License Requirements
The Arkansas state government defines a master plumber as, “any person skilled in the planning, superintending and the practical installation of plumbing and who is familiar with the laws, rules and regulations governing the same.” The following requirements are necessary to become a master plumber in the state of Arkansas:
- 5 years of in-field experience;
- A journeyman license held for at least 1 year;
- A master plumber license application to the state (including a $125 application fee);
- Passage of the state examination.
Plumbing Master Exam
The $125 exam fee is included in the application. The exam is 100 questions, with a 3-hour time limit. A score of at least 70% is considered passing. Examination dates can be found on the Arkansas Department of Health website. The Plumbing Examiners Committee can be contacted at 501-661-2642.
Arkansas Journeyman Plumber License Requirements
Arkansas defines a journeyman plumber as, “any person other than a Master Plumber, who is engaged in the practical installation of plumbing.” The following requirements are necessary to become a journeyman plumber in the state of Arkansas:
- 4 years of in-field experience;
- Completion of an approved apprenticeship program;
- A journeyman plumber application to the state (including a $75 application fee);
- Passage of the state examination.
Journeyman Plumber Exam
The $75 exam fee is included in the application. The exam is 100 questions, with a 3-hour time limit. A score of at least 70% is considered passing. Examination dates can be found on the Arkansas Department of Health website. The Plumbing Examiners Committee can be contacted at 501-661-2642.
Plumbing Apprenticeship Requirements
The state of Arkansas defines an apprentice plumber as “any person other than a journeyman or master plumber who is engaged in learning and assisting in the installation of plumbing and drainage and enrolled in a state-approved apprentice program.” To become registered as an apprentice plumber with the state of Arkansas, a prospective plumber must put in an apprenticing application and be accepted into a state-approved apprenticeship program.
Arkansas Plumbing Apprentice Jobs
Job boards are a great resource for apprentice plumbers looking for work.
Plumbing Trade Schools in Arkansas
Northwest Arkansas Community College
Location: 1 College Dr, Bentonville, AR 72712
Contact Info: (479) 636-9222
Tuition: $4,633 (In-state tuition)
Phillips Community College
Location: 1000 Campus Rd, Helena, AR 72342
Contact Info: (870) 338-6474
Tuition: $3,110 (In-state tuition)
Pulaski Technical College
Location: 3000 W Scenic Dr, North Little Rock, AR 72118
Contact Info: (501) 812-2200
Tuition: $5,011 (In-state tuition)
Ultimate Technical Academy
Location: 1611, 6108 Getty Dr, North Little Rock, AR 72117
Contact Info: (501) 835-8200
Tuition: $1,199.00 per course
Arkansas Professional License Search
Plumbers in the state of Arkansas are legally obligated to hold a state-approved license. A database of licensed plumbers can be found on the state’s contractor licensee search.
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become a Plumbing Contractor in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Arkansas, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements:
- Arkansas General Contractor License Requirements
- How to Become a Electrical Contractor in Arkansas
- Arkansas Handyman License Guide
- Arkansas Welding Schools and Career Guide
- How to Get an HVAC License in Arkansas
Image Source: https://pixabay.com/