The HVAC license in Arkansas is referred to as an HVAC/R license because it includes refrigeration. The process of obtaining your HVAC license in Arkansas is fairly straightforward and involves only meeting the Arkansas HVAC license requirements, paying the license fee, and passing an exam. However, entry-level technicians must first register with the state and work for a licensed contractor before they can obtain their HVAC/R license. This guide covers how to get an HVAC license in Arkansas.
Who Needs an HVAC License?
You can work as an HVAC technician in Arkansas without a license; however, you must register with the state and work for a licensed HVAC contractor. All HVAC contractors who design, construct, install, service and maintain, repair, alter, and modify equipment or products in heating and air conditioning, ventilation, refrigeration, or process cooling or heating systems must have an HVAC/R license in Arkansas.
HVAC License Types in Arkansas
Arkansas has six classifications of HVAC/R licenses:
1. Class A
A Class A license holder can perform HVAC/R work with no restriction on BTUs per hour of heat or the equipment’s horsepower.
2. Class B
Class B license holders are restricted to HVAC/R work on air conditioning equipment smaller than a 15-ton unit and heating equipment that produces fewer than 1 million BTUs. They are also limited to working on refrigeration equipment of no more than 15 horsepower.
3. Class C
A Class C license holder can repair, replace or service the components of HVAC/R equipment with the same size restrictions as Class B, but cannot replace existing HVAC/R equipment or install new equipment.
4. Class D
A Class D license holder can perform sheet metal work that is related to ductwork for HVAC/R systems with no restriction on the connecting system’s horsepower. Class D license holders may not sell, install or service HVAC/R systems or equipment.
5. Class E
A Class E license holder can do refrigeration work with no restriction on horsepower, but may not sell, install or service air conditioning or heating equipment.
6. Class L
A Class L license holder has a lifetime license to do HVAC/R maintenance and service work on air conditioning systems and heating or refrigeration units with the same size restrictions as Class B and Class C. Class L license holders may not replace existing HVAC/R equipment or install new equipment.
Arkansas HVAC License Requirements
The rules for the licensing of HVAC/R contractors are enforced by the Arkansas Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Licensing Board per the laws of the State of Arkansas in Act 277, of 1991 and Act 96 of 1913. You do not need a background check to acquire an HVAC license in Arkansas.
Applicants for all licenses other than Class L must be a minimum of 18 years old.
All applicants must complete and submit an application on forms prescribed by the Board.
Employees of a designated license holder are registrants unless they are otherwise exempt. The license holder must maintain the registration of all employees who are required to be registered.
Qualifications for Lifetime License
Applicants for a Class L Lifetime license must be a minimum of 65 years old and must have been eligible for one of the other five types of licenses before application.
Applicants are not eligible if they have pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or been found guilty of any offense detailed in Ark. Code Ann. §17-3-102 by an Arkansas court or federal court, unless the conviction was lawfully sealed, expunged, or pardoned. The Board may grant a waiver in some circumstances.
Denial of License
The Board may deny a license if the applicant meets one of three criteria:
- Committed any act that would be grounds for revocation or suspension of the license or registration if the individual was already licensed
- Knowingly made a misrepresentation or false statement on the application
- Previously denied a license or registration for cause or previously had a license or registration revoked for cause
There are no insurance requirements for HVAC technicians in Arkansas. However, HVAC contractors may be required to carry workers’ compensation and other insurance to maintain their general contractor’s license.
Use the tool below to request a free commercial insurance quote from our partners.
Arkansas HVAC Licensing and Registration Fees
Payment for your license fee must be submitted with your license application.
All license fees must be paid with the initial license application and with each annual renewal. At the time of this writing, fees are as follows:
- Class A – $200.00
- Class B – $150.00
- Class C – $100.00
- Class D – $150.00
- Class E – $150.00
- Class L – no charge
- Registrant – $25.00
You may request a waiver of your initial license fee if you meet one of the requirements:
- Receive assistance from the Arkansas Medicaid Program
- Enrolled in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program or Special Supplemental Program for Women, Infants, and Children
- Enrolled in the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program or the Lifeline Assistance Program
- Approved for unemployment compensation in the past 12 months
- Have an income that does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty limit
Arkansas HVAC License Education Requirements and Exam
There are no education, apprenticeship, or training requirements for licensure in the state of Arkansas. However, there are many good online and in-person training programs for HVAC professionals, and most HVAC technicians and contractors in the state complete some type of training. Contractors who work as Municipal HVAC/R Inspectors have specific training requirements.
HVAC License Exam Details
Applicants who do not hold a license in another state must pass a Board-approved examination.
Before you can schedule an exam you must first be pre-approved by the Board. To get pre-approved, you must fulfill the HVAC/R Contractor License Rules and Regulations and mail your original completed and notarized HVAC/R Contractor Application to the Board along with your license fee.
To gain approval from the Board to take the HVAC/R license exam, applicants must have at least two years of experience as an HVAC/R contractor or employee of an HVAC/R contractor. The applicant may be able to substitute HVAC/R-related education and training for the experience requirement if the training is approved by the Board. The applicant must provide copies of educational transcripts to the Board for consideration.
Applicants may show proof of experience by submitting records, bona fide evidence, or affidavits from current or former employers or other persons who can attest to the applicant’s work experience as an HVAC/R contractor. License examinations are offered at least four times per year or as often as the Board deems appropriate.
Requirements for Applicants Licensed in The Other States
Applicants for a Class A, B, C, D, or E license who are currently licensed in another state with HVAC/R licensing laws substantially similar to the State of Arkansas may be approved without examination if they have a license in good standing and pay the license fee.
State licensing laws are considered substantially similar if that state has adopted a national model mechanical code and uses a comprehensive examination proctored and created by a national examination agency or equivalent.
Scheduling Your Exam
The Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing’s HVAC/R contractor examinations are proctored by Prov. You can schedule your exam by calling 866-720-7768 or visiting the Prov website.
You can take your exam at any of Prov’s testing centers. Prov currently has eight testing centers in Arkansas:
- Conway, AR
- El Dorado, AR
- Fayetteville, AR
- Fort Smith, AR
- Jonesboro, AR
- Little Rock, AR
- Paragould, AR
- Searcy, AR
Great HVAC training can be found both in-person and online. Use our tool below to find additional programs near you.
The fee for the Class A, B, C, D, or E exams is $56.00 for written exams and $80.00 for computerized exams.
Prov immediately scores your exam upon completion and then forwards the results to the state board. The Board will mail you your score. You can also access your score on the Prov website.
You must score 70% or higher to pass the exam. You may retake the exam as often as you need to, until one year from the date you were approved by the Board to take the exam. After one year, you must submit a retake form and examination fee to the Board before you can test again.
You can purchase practice exams from the Prov bookstore. You are not required to obtain any study materials, but candidates are allowed to bring authorized study materials into the examination, so you may be at a disadvantage if you choose not to. The testing facility recommends that candidates bring codebooks related to their exams.
Test Day Rules
Doors to the testing center open at least 15 minutes before the scheduled testing appointments. If you arrive after testing has already begun, you will not be able to take your test and will not receive a refund of your exam fees. You must show a current, valid, government-issued photo ID as proof of identity.
HVAC Training Schools in Arkansas
There are a variety of training programs available at community and technical colleges as well as other vocational training facilities in the state.
Great HVAC training can be found both in-person and online. Use our tool below to find additional programs near you.
HVAC Excellence Accredited Programs
There are currently two HVAC Excellence Accredited Programs in the state:
- Arkansas State University – Beebe in Searcy, AR
- Arkansas Tech University – Ozark Campus in Ozark, AR
Community and Technical College Programs
- Arkansas Northeastern College – Blytheville, AR
- East Arkansas Community College – Forrest City, AR
- National Park College – Hot Springs, AR
- Northwest Technical Institute – Springdale, AR
- Pulaski Technical College – Little Rock, AR
- Remington College – Little Rock, AR
- Southeast Arkansas College – Pine Bluff, AR
- University of Arkansas Community College – Batesville, AR
Other Training Programs
- Arkansas Construction Education Foundation
- Plumbers and Pipefitters Apprenticeship Training of Arkansas
- University of Arkansas Facilities Management
Arkansas License Application
Applications for HVAC/R licenses are handled by the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing.
You can download a printable copy of the application online:
- HVAC/R License Application
- HVAC/R Registrant Application
- HVAC/R Reinstatement Application
- HVAC/R Lifetime Application
- HVAC/R Municipal Inspector Certification/Re-Certification Application
The application requires your name, address, contact information, work history, criminal record, and an attestation that you meet the work and other eligibility requirements. You must include all of the requested information on your application or it will be returned.
The mailing address for your application is:
Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
900 W. Capitol, Suite 400, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Registration and Permitting Requirements
All HVAC/R technicians who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of equipment that may emit ozone-depleting refrigerants must complete EPA Section 608 HVAC Certification. There are four types of certifications for different types of work.
Technicians who work with gas may need a permit from the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board.
HVAC Registered Contractor Requirements in Arkansas
If you want to work as an independent HVAC/R contractor after you get your license, you may need to apply for a state contractor’s license through the Arkansas Contractor’s Licensing Board. However, this only applies if you work on projects with a value over $50,000.
Arkansas HVAC Licensing FAQ
How Long Is My License Valid?
All licenses expire one year from the original date of issuance.
Can I Use My License in the Other States?
While there are provisions for reciprocation of licenses with other states in the state rules, the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing’s State HVAC/R Board does not currently have any agreements with other states.
Who Can I Contact If I Have Questions?
If you have a question or a complaint about the process of getting your HVAC/R license, you can email [email protected] or call 501-682-4500.
You don’t have to have an HVAC license in Arkansas to work as an HVAC technician. However, learning how to get an HVAC license in Arkansas expands your employment opportunities and earning capacity. Fortunately, the Arkansas HVAC license requirements should be relatively easy for most people to meet by the time they fulfill the two-year experience requirement.
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become an HVAC-R technician in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Arkansas, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements: