Like many other states, Arizona requires HVAC technicians to be licensed and insured. Obtaining an HVAC license in Arizona requires you to pass the Arizona Statutes and Rules Exam. To complete this important first step and begin your career as an HVAC technician or contractor, you must first understand the guidelines for how to get an HVAC license in Arizona.
Who Needs an HVAC License?
Arizona state law requires anyone who works with heating, ventilation, and/or refrigeration machinery to work under an HVAC license if the cost of the work exceeds $1,000. You must either hold the license yourself or work as an apprentice or technician under the supervision of a licensed HVAC contractor. The Arizona Registrar of Contractors issues all HVACR licenses.
HVAC License Types in Arizona
The state of Arizona recognizes four levels of HVAC employees. Your work eligibility varies depending on which of the following licenses you hold:
- Apprentice: Apprentices are earning the experience required to be eligible for HVAC licenses. They have not licensed themselves but work under the supervision and license of a contractor.
- Journeyman: Journeymen are HVAC technicians who may or may not be licensed. Arizona does not license technicians at the state level, but certain jurisdictions such as the city of Phoenix license at the journeyman level.
- Contractor: A contractor has met all of the requirements and passed the written test to obtain an HVAC license. Contractors much renew their licenses every two years.
- Specialty: Specialty HVAC contractors have extensive knowledge of specific areas of heating, ventilation, and refrigeration.
For each of these levels, there are three Arizona HVAC licenses. The type of work you do dictates which of the following licenses you need:
- Specialty Residential R-39 Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
- Specialty Commercial C-39 Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
- Specialty Dual CR-39 Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
Recommended: Arizona Handyman License
Arizona HVAC License Requirements
To obtain an HVAC license in Arizona, you must pass the Arizona Statutes and Rules Exam. You cannot take the exam until you have four years of experience in the industry as an apprentice or have earned an HVAC diploma through a two-year associate degree program at a community college. After paying the exam and application fees, you must submit proof that you have obtained a licensed bond. The state then issues you a statewide license that you are responsible for renewing every two years.
Arizona requires licensed HVAC contractors to be insured. At the bare minimum, contractors are required to have liability insurance. Insurance requirements may vary slightly among jurisdictions, so some cities may also require HVAC contractors to carry insurance for workers’ compensation.
Use the tool below to request a free commercial insurance quote from our partners.
Arizona HVAC Licensing and Registration Fees
There is a fee for your HVAC license and application and an additional fee for each exam you take. You also pay a fee when you renew your license every two years. The fees vary depending upon which type of license you are applying for. At the time of this writing, current fees for Arizona HVAC licenses are:
- Specialty Residential: The total fee for a specialty residential license is $720. The cost for the application is $80, the license fee is $270 and the recovery fund assessment is $370.
- Specialty Commercial: You must pay a total of $580 for a specialty commercial license. The application fee is $100 and the license costs $480.
- Specialty Dual: The total cost for a dual HVAC license in Arizona is $850. The application fee is $100, the license fee is $380 and the recovery fund assessment is $370.
Exams have separate fees. Each exam costs $66 when taken separately. You may take two exams for $116 or add the solar portion for a total of $156 due at the time of the exam. Fees are paid to the PSI and are due when you take the exam or submit your license application.
Arizona HVAC License Education Requirements and Exam
Many online and in-person degree programs can prepare you for a successful career in the HVAC industry and ready you to earn a license in Arizona. Completing an HVAC program from a trade school or obtaining an associate degree in HVAC from a local college can help you meet the educational requirements for your license. Alternatively, you can become an apprentice under a licensed contractor for training on the field.
HVAC License Exam Details
Section 608 of the Clean Air Act stipulates that anyone who deals with refrigerants must be EPA-certified. You can obtain your EPA certification from any of the organizations listed on the EPA website, but this certification is a pre-requisite for the Statutes and Rules Exam.
The Arizona Statutes and Rules Exam is administered by the PSI and costs $54. It covers a wide variety of topics related to business management and HVAC work, including:
- Sizing and estimating
- Controls and motors
- Testing, Balancing, and Inspecting
- Warm Air Heating
Arizona has five PSI testing centers. You may take or retake the licensing exam at any of the following locations:
- Tempe – Carleton Business Plaza
- Tucson – North Campbell Avenue, Suite 203-1
- Flagstaff – Computer Training and Testing Center 81, Room 103/106
- Glendale – Glendale-Arizona Flight Training Center
- Phoenix – Phoenix Midtown
HVAC Training Schools in Arizona
Many schools in Arizona offer HVAC programs. Any of the following programs can prepare you for the licensing exam:
- The Refrigeration School, Phoenix, AZ (866) 820-0823
- National Technical Institute HVAC Training AZ, Henderson, Nevada (702) 948-9000
- Vocational Training Institute, Phoenix, AZ
- UEI College, Phoenix, AZ
Great HVAC training can be found both in-person and online. Use our tool below to find additional programs near you.
Arizona License Application
You must contact the Arizona Registrar of Contractors to apply for an HVAC license. You can submit your application online and must include a background check, all of the necessary paperwork including your exam scores, proof of a licensing bond, and the application fee.
Registration and Permitting Requirements
You must be EPA-certified to work with refrigerants in Arizona. You may apply for the following certification types:
- Type I: This allows you to service appliances that use five pounds or less of refrigerant.
- Type II: Authorizes you to service high-pressure units.
- Type III: This allows you to service and dispose of low-pressure appliances.
- Universal: Authorizes you to service any machinery with refrigerant.
HVAC Registered Contractor Requirements in Arizona
You do not need a general contractor’s license to operate as an HVAC contractor in Arizona. The HVAC license allows you to do any type of work specified on your license type.
Arizona HVAC Career Growth
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics states that out of more than 376,000 HVAC jobs across the nation, 10,000 of them are located in Arizona. The industry is expected to grow by as much as 4% nationwide in the next few years. Growth for Arizona alone is expected to be as much as 21%, so pursuing a career in the HVAC industry is a stable and promising job path.
HVAC License Arizona FAQ
How Long Is My Arizona HVAC License Valid?
Your license to perform HVAC work in Arizona will need to be renewed every two years.
Can I Use My (State) HVAC License in the Other States?
Arizona does not currently have reciprocity agreements with other states. Licensed applicants from other states may be able to obtain a waiver that will allow them to work in Arizona.
Who Can I Contact If I Have Questions?
If you have further questions, please reach out to the Arizona Registrar of Contractors.
For More License and Career Guides
To find out how to become an HVAC-R technician in another state, start here.
For information on other trades in Arizona, click on a link below to learn more about the licensing requirements: